Springboks: Full list – NINE players injured!

The Springboks have an injury list the size of more than half a starting XV. These are the players currently sidelined and unavailable for selection.

Rassie Erasmus recently announced his 31-man Springboks training squad.

Noticeably, several big names were absent. This is because there are currently NINE Springboks sidelined with injury. Additionally, Bulls players were not considered to their respective URC commitments. Let’s take a look at all the injured Bok stars.


  • Steven Kitshoff
  • Lood de Jager
  • Jean Kleyn
  • Jaden Hendrikse
  • Lukhanyo Am
  • Canan Moodie
  • Kurt-lee Arendse
  • Cheslin Kolbe
  • Damien Willemse

Cheslin Kolbe took a bump to his knee during a training session on Monday morning. Therefore, he has left the squad as we await the results of his scan. Meanwhile, Celimphilo Gumede has been called up as his replacement, as reported by SARugby.

Meaning, he is an exception to the rule. Despite, his team taking part in the URC semi-finals on Saturday. They play hosts to Irish-giants Leinster at Loftus on Saturday with a spot in the URC grand final up for grabs.

Therefore, these players are all currently not training due to injury. Most of them are expected to return in time for the Ireland series.

However, Rassie’s attention is on the first Test match against Wales in a couple of weeks. So, he will be without the above players as well as all the European, UK and Ireland based players. Furthermore, Jasper Wiese is suspended, as reported on The South African.


These players have been knocking on the selection door. Now, Injuries and club commitments has opened the door for them. Ultimately, several promising players have the chance to put up their hands and stake their claim for the Springbok jersey.

The likes of Neethling Fouche, Siya Masuko and Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu are amongst 11 potential debutants named. Meanwhile, this has grown to 12 with the addition of Bulls loses forward, Gumede.


Forwards: Phepsi Buthelezi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Joseph Dweba, Ben-Jason Dixon (both DHL Stormers), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Toyota Verblitz), Eben Etzebeth (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Neethling Fouche (DHL Stormers), Celimphilo Gumedo (Vodacom Bulls), Vincent Koch (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears), Bongi Mbonambi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Ntuthuko Mchunu (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers), Franco Mostert (Honda Heat), Ox Nche (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Evan Roos (DHL Stormers), Kwagga Smith (Blu Revs), Andre-Hugo Venter (DHL Stormers), Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers).

Backs: Damian de Allende (Panasonic Wild Knights), Faf de Klerk (Canon Eagles), Andre Esterhuizen (Harlequins), Aphelele Fassi (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Jordan Hendrikse (Emirates Lions), Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (DHL Stormers), Ethan Hooker (Hollywoodbets Sharks), Quan Horn (Emirates Lions), Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles), Manie Libbok (DHL Stormers), Makazole Mapimpi, Siya Masuku (both Hollywoodbets Sharks), Handre Pollard (Leicester Tigers), Morne van den Berg (Emirates Lions), Edwill van der Merwe (Emirates Lions), Grant Williams (Hollywoodbets Sharks).

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *